Adjust text size


The Albertina Sisulu Executive Leadership Programme in Health (ASELPH) is a collaborative programme of the University of Pretoria, the University of Fort Hare, Harvard School of Public Health, and South Africa Partners, in collaboration with the National and Provincial Departments of Health.



• About
• Strategic Priorities
• Leadership
• Programme History
Measuring Impact


Steering Committee


ASELPH is guided by a Steering Committee chaired by the National Director-General for Health, Dr. Terence Carter. The Committee is composed of representatives from the National as well as Provincial Departments of Health, the University of Pretoria, the University of Fort Hare, the Harvard School of Public Health, independent health experts from private sector and parastatals, funding organisations, and from the Sisulu family. 

The Steering Committee has two sub-committees:

  • Strategic Policy & Direction, co-chaired by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Fort Hare and the Dean of the University of Pretoria Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Strategic Operations, with representation from the University of Fort Hare, University of Pretoria, Harvard School of Public Health, and South Africa Partners

Implementing Partner Organisations


School of Health Systems and Public Health, University of Pretoria

School of Health Sciences, University of Fort Hare

School of Public Health, Harvard University

South Africa Partners